LibGuides: Science: Queensland Electricity Options

Access It Catalogue

Search the Learning Centre catalogue

Learning Centre Books

Catalogue Searches:

Keywords: renewable energy, solar energy, nuclear energy, wind energy, wave energy, hydroelectric energy, geothermal energy
Subjects: natural resources, renewable energy, climate change, air pollution,

Relevant Databases

To access databases from home, you will need a username and password. This information is shown on the LC Database link.

Queensland Electricity Options

Imagine that in the near future an “alternative energy” power station is to be built on the Sunshine Coast (north of Brisbane). Select one type of alternative energy source and take a position — either for or against — the use of this energy source, then:

(1) Write a letter arguing your position (which must include an appeal to reason) addressed to the State Member for your area (or Member for Caloundra, if you live outside Queensland).

(2) Post at least one comment on an LMS® topic discussion forum (or Google Doc) on your chosen topic.

Queensland Electricity Options 2017 Assignment Task

Criteria Sheet 2017

Online Resources

Energy?

What is energy? Information from the US California Energy Commission provides a ‘simple’ answer to this question.
Brief history of energy use
Energy & Change Featuring videos, games and other types of resources on this topic from Splash ABC.

Climate Change

Climate Change - Splash ABC Featuring videos, games and other types of resources on this topic.
Greenhouse Effect Animation Greenhouse effect animation - shows the basics of how greenhouse gases warm the atmosphere:
Australian Greenhouse Calculator Has information and interactives on the greenhouse effect and climate change. Search the EPA site for further information.

What is electricity?

What is electricity? Web page from the US California Energy Commission provides straightforward information on electrical current.
BBC Bitesize Has activities, information and quizzes on ‘changing circuits’ and ‘electrical conductors’.

Video on how electricity works.

Alternative Energy Sources

Video of on 'clean alternatives to fossil fuels'.

EIA Energy Kid’s Page Has straightforward information as well as fun resources on a range of alternative energy sources from the US Energy Information Administration.
more...less...
Don't forget to scroll to the bottom and look at the other links that could be helpful for your assignment.
US Department of Energy Information on renewable energies: solar, geothermal, wind and water
Energex Energex's corporation’s web site has a variety of information on electricity including some educational resources for primary & middle students (i.e. basics). You can also find information such as the energy consumption in South East Queensland. Notice at the top of this page is a meter showing the current demand for electric power in South East Queensland.
Qld Department of Energy & Water Supply Has information, animations and downloadable fact sheets – click on the links under the relevant tags (e.g. renewable energy). You can also search for information using key terms.
Geoscience Australia Has extensive resources on energy in Australia. Click on links and/or search the site.
ABC Science Has some excellent resources and recent news on alternative energy and related topics. For example, follow the ‘Energy and Transport’ links.
CSIRO - Renewables and energy Has links to several types of renewable energy technologies and their use in Australia.
BBC - Sustainable Furtures Web site provides a good overview of the topic of energy (e.g. pros and cons of various energy sources) under the heading of “Sustainable futures”.
ABC Science - Sustainable Development The ABC’s Science Online website “Sustainable development” has links on Australian energy issues. The language is suited to stronger readers.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory The US “National Renewable Energy Laboratory” web site has extensive resources for students of a range of renewable energy sources.
NOVA - Australian Academy of Science’s “Generating new ideas to meet future energy needs” is an article on energy options for Australia (e.g. geothermal, wave, hydrogen) from the Australian Academy of Science’s NOVA web site.
Beyond Zero Emissions Is a not-for-profit research and education organisation which according to the website is “known for its work designing and implementing a zero emissions economy for Australia. It's goal is to transform Australia from a 19th century fossil fuel based, emissions intensive, economy to a 21st-century renewable-energy-powered clean-tech economy.”
Global trends in renewable energy investment 2012

Image from: http://gasificationsolutions.com/biomass-energy/

What is biomass? - Australian Renewable Energy Agency Bioenergy is a form of renewable energy derived from biomass to generate electricity and heat or to produce liquid fuels for transport. Biomass is any organic matter of recently living plant or animal origin. It is available in many forms such as agricultural products, forestry products, and municipal and other waste.
Biomass Energy - the facts Also includes links to: solar, wind & hydro energy
Biomass – the growing energy resource (NOVA) Extracting energy from biomass is an ancient practice, dating back to when people first burnt wood to provide heat and light. But just because the idea is old doesn't mean there's no scope for novel technology. Scientists are continuing to find new and increasingly efficient ways to extract energy from biomass, to a point where it is now being taken seriously as a future energy option.
Urban Ecology Australia - Biomass Biomass energy is energy derived from sunlight via energy crops such as trees, grain crops, oil seed crops, and sugar cane. It is renewable and (potentially) greenhouse neutral.

Video: An Australian company is hoping to develop a waste-to-energy facility in Western Australia to convert household waste into power. Find out how this technology works, and learn about some of the issues it raises for waste management in the community. Does everyone support this technology, which is relatively new to Australia?

Australian Geothermal Energy Incorporation
ARENA - Australian Renewable Energy Association Geothermal energy holds the promise of being a renewable energy source that can operate 24 hours a day, providing critical large scale baseload power for Australian homes and industries. In addition, geothermal energy can be used for heating and cooling purposes. There are a number of buildings, residential homes and swimming pools that currently use geothermal for these purposes.
Current Use in Australia - SA Government
Clean Energy Council - Geothermal
Gizmag - Australia's vast geothermal energy resources represent thousands of years worth of untapped power
Geothermal Energy: An Emerging Option for Heat and Power
Geothermal Energy, an option for hydrogen production?
The Guide to Home Geothermal Energy Efficient and economical, geothermal heats, cools and cuts fossil fuel use at home. Whether you're in sunny Florida, or snowy New Hampshire, a ground-fed climate system can free a consumer from fluctuating energy prices and save money on power bills immediately. Here's how it works.
Geothermal Heat Pumps

Nuclear Power - ask and expert Has a series of questions on nuclear power that are answered by some of Australia’s top experts.
4 Corners Nuclear energy special Investigates the issues associated with nuclear energy for Australia. Streaming video of the program is provided, as well as a host of links and additional material.
ANSTO - Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Organiastion Use the links in the Nuclear Facts tab
Nuclear Energy Institute Is a pro-nuclear energy website with links to information about the industry.
NOVA - Australian Academy of Science Fusion energy for the 21st Century? “Nova” 2007 article on the possibilities of nuclear fusion reactors - somewhat dated material but the basics of nuclear fusion are explained.

Video: Mark Horstman travels to Fukushima Prefecture in Japan to investigate where the radioactive fallout has travelled since the Daichi nuclear power plant accident over three years ago.

Video: Remember the earthquake and following tsunami that hit Japan in March 2011 and damaged a nuclear power plant? Find out about the damage caused, what exploded and why, and the aftermath of the disaster. What debates about nuclear power plants were reignited by the events in Japan?

Nuclear fission chain reaction model using table tennis balls & mousetraps.

NOVA - Australian Academy of Science’s “Generating new ideas to meet future energy needs” is an article on energy options for Australia (e.g. geothermal, wave, hydrogen)
more...less...
The world has changed dramatically over the last 200 years, thanks largely to fossil fuels – coal, oil and natural gas. These have provided us with cheap and convenient energy, which we use to heat and cool our homes and to run our cars, appliances and industries.

But there has been a cost. No city in the world is immune from the polluting effects of fossil fuels, and they contribute vast quantities of greenhouse gases to the atmosphere, something that many scientists believe causes global warming.

So, in the last few decades, scientists have been looking for ways to produce energy without adverse side-effects. Promising renewable energy sources such as wind, direct solar and biomass are dealt with in other Nova topics (see links at the end of this page). Now we'll have a look at hot dry rocks, waves and hydrogen. It may be some years before these energy sources make a big impact but they illustrate the diversity of options that are available.
Australian Clean Energy Council The Australian “Clean Energy Council” website contains information on a range of alternative energy sources. The CEC is an industry sponsored association.
Energy.gov - Office of Energy, Efficiency & Renewable Energy (USA) “Solar” from the US Department of energy’s web site has some videos and information on ‘the basics’ of solar cells.

Solar photovoltaic (PV) systems can generate clean, cost-effective power anywhere the sun shines. This video shows how a PV panel converts the energy of the sun into renewable electricity to power homes and businesses.

Video: In the World Solar Challenge, participants from all around the world drive solar-powered cars from Darwin to Adelaide. Find out how these cars work, and why we don't see them driving down our streets.

Video: There's a power revolution heading for our homes – a device that allows you to take power into your own hands. Its batteries, home batteries, and they've been called the holy grail of renewables – the key to the transition away from fossil fuels. Australia is at the vanguard of this revolution - we will be one of the first countries in the world to experience the transition to the battery powered home. Find out how you can be part of it.

AENews - Wave Energy News and Information about Wave Energy and Ocean Power Technologies.
Oceanlinx - Wave Energy It is a predictable, convenient and non-evasive natural resource for 100% clean energy generation.
Perth Wave Energy Project From the Australian Renewable Energy Agency. Areas covered: Need / Project Innovation / Benefit / More information

Wind Power “Wind” from the US Department of energy’s web site has some videos and information on ‘the basics’ of wind energy
NOVA - Blowing in the wind Technological advances are breathing new life into our use of wind power as a clean, renewable, cost-effective means of generating electricity.
Wind roses for selected locations in Australia You can start your searches on wind speed data. This could help you to decide if wind power is a viable option for a particular location.

Navigation Made Easy (Junior & Middle)

Tips for Assignment Writing, Referencing & Citation Tools

Google Like a Boss! - Use this Libguide to improve your skills in the entire Research process.

TEEEL

Editing Codes

Pixabay Free high quality images you can download and use anywhere
Bensound Access royalty free music.

TV4Education videos

Eco Engineering - Geothermal - The heat from within

For best viewing: Right click on video / Open in a new tab / maximise screen

Behind the News: Energy Alternatives

For best viewing: Right click on video / Open in a new tab / maximise screen

ABC Channel: 10 Buck a Litre

Dick Smith explores Australia's options as the era of cheap and abundant energy is replaced by an age of scarcity and high cost.

For best viewing: Right click on video / Open in a new tab / maximise screen