LibGuides: HPE: Sport Psychology

vLibrary Catalogue

Search the Learning Centre catalogue

Learning Centre Resources

Access vLibrary from the Library webpage

Log into vLibrary
Keywords search:
Subject search: Year 12 - HPE - Sports psychology - Touch football

Relevant Databases

To access databases from home, you will need a username and password. This information is shown on the LC Database Homepage.

Best Keywords search terms for above Databases

- sport psychology

- psychology in sport

Unit 5: Touch Football

Throughout this unit, you have been examining and investigating the concepts and principles regarding the Learning of Physical Skills, in particular, the Psychology of Learning Skills, whilst participating in the direct interceptive game of Touch Football.

Your task is to develop a Multi-Modal Presentation that answers the following task question:

“How has your understanding of Sport Psychology influenced your performance in Touch Football in this Unit?

2018 Task Sheet

Relevant and Reliable Online Sources

Defining the Practice of Sport and Performance Psychology To provide clarity for the profession, the authors offer a definition of applied sport psychology conceptualized as a sub-field of performance psychology. The constructs of performance and performance issues are also defined. The distinction between performance enhancement and performance restoration is highlighted. Performance psychology is contrasted with exercise and health psychology, clinical and counseling psychology, positive psychology, and consulting psychology.
AIS - High Performance Mental Skills Mental skills are a key factor in achieving success in high performance sport. Athletes committed to achieving their sporting goals seek to understand themselves and utilise mental skills to enhance their sporting performance.
more...less...
Covers:
Psychology - The 4 C's Techniques that athletes can use in the competitive situation to maintain control and optimise their performance. Once learned, these techniques allow the athlete to relax and to focus his/her attention in a positive manner on the task of preparing for and participating in competition.
Mental Toughness and Hardiness at Different Levels of Rugby League Download the Full text PDF. The present study examined the potency of measures of personality style and mental skills in predicting success in the criterion sport of professional rugby league.
Science Direct An online database containing academic articles on Sport Psychology. SEARCH: Sport Psychology
The 9 Mental Skills of Successful Athletes There are nine, specific mental skills that contribute to success in sports. They are all learned and can be improved with instruction and practice.
Mental Skills Training for Sports: A Brief Review Mental skills training for sport is reviewed in relation to general cognitive-somatic techniques. These techniques include mental rehearsal, mental imagery and visualization, visuo-motor behavior rehearsal, cognitive-behavior therapy, biofeedback, progressive muscle relaxation and meditation. It is concluded that the initial and continued ability to self-monitor, though enhanced by mental skills training, is fundamentally important for any implementation of cognitive-somatic therapy.
Developing a Mental Skills Performance Plan It’s not just elite athletes who can use mental imagery to improve performance; you can, too!
POMS - Profile of Mood States - Psychological Questionaire POMS is a standard validated psychological test formulated by McNair et al. (1971). The questionnaire contains 65 words/statements that describe feelings people have. The test requires you to indicate for each word or statement how you have been feeling in the past week including today.
Psychology Today - Athlete Mental Skills Profile (Team Sports) 53 questions, 30 min What is the difference between a good athlete and an elite one? For years, researchers have been delving deep into the psychological make-up of elite performers in order to determine the traits and skills that allow them to stand head and shoulders above their peers. Equipped with the knowledge of this athlete success evaluation, professional scouts and coaches for team sports can gain greater insight and understanding into which athletes can be both a physical and mental competitor.
more...less...
This test is made up of three types of questions: scenarios, self-assessment, and interactive. For each scenario, answer according to how you would most likely behave in a similar situation. For the self-assessment questions, indicate the degree to which the given statements apply to you. The interactive section will have its own instructions, so please make sure to read them carefully. Answer the questions in this test as honestly as possible, and be aware that there are measures in place that are intended to pick up attempts to misrepresent oneself, or to answer untruthfully.

Positive Self Talk and Mental Conditioning - Part 1 & 2 Videos below

Navigation Made Easy

NC Library Webpage
LC Databases
Google Advanced Search
Google Scholar
How to write what you want to say
more... less...

For a hard copy of this resource, please ask a Library staff member.
Student Cafe
Parent Lounge

SLASA - Online Referencing Generator
1. Select your level
2. Select your source type
3. Fill in the required bibliographic information
4. Create citation
5. Copy and paste into your Reference List
6. CLICK BELOW TO START