Access It Catalogue

Search the Learning Centre catalogue

Keywords: Year 12 - Legal

Nudgee One Search

Databases & Other Useful Web Links

HUMAN RIGHTS

Amnesty International

Australian Human Rights Commission

Taking IT Global

Human Rights Watch

The Childs Rights Information Network

Oxfam

Protecting Human Rights in Australia

United Nations

UNHCR UN Refugee Agency

Human Rights & Responsibilities

WEB DATABASES

Australian Bureau of Statistics

CIA World Fact Book

National Library of Australia - Trove

Videos

Human Rights

The purpose of the assignment is to investigate an Australian law or area of law in which human rights are threatened or breached. The areas that need to be covered are:

Identify the law or area of law.
Discuss why it needs reform - what human rights are involved/breached. Is the law just and equitable? (If relevant, discuss individual v society rights).
Examine alternative solutions
Recommend a change

The CRAP Test

"Weed out the CRAP!"

Download a CRAP Evaluation Worksheet to rate the quality of your source.

Human RIghts Topics

Refugee Council of Australia This could be a useful link with plenty of resources and fact sheets
Immigration detention and human rights People who are held in detention are particularly vulnerable to violations of their human rights.

Let's Talk About Rights This information sheet talks about some of the human rights issues faced by asylum seekers and refugees in Australia. It also highlights how a federal Human Rights Act could help deal with these issues.

Information about children in immigration detention Under Australia’s system of mandatory immigration detention, all non-citizens who are in Australia without a valid visa must be detained. This includes children. The vast majority of children who are in immigration detention are children who arrived in Australia by boat, seeking asylum. Some of them came with family members, but some of them came alone
Immigration detention in Australia Information from Parliament of Australia. Many useful links from this site should help you with this topic.
How Australia Violates Human Rights Detention of refugees can last for weeks months or even years while their application makes its way through the bureaucracy. Australia is the only country in the developed world to imprison refugees.

The Human Rights of Refugees The People's Movement for Human Rights Education This could be a useful site with an enormous amount of relevant information on the topic.
Asylum Seekers & Refugees Guide There are multiple links on this page about the rights of asylum seekers and Australia's treatment of those people seeking asylum.
Human Rights: Asylum Seekers and Refugees This information sheet talks about some of the human rights issues faced by asylum seekers and refugees in Australia. It also highlights how a federal Human Rights Act could help deal with these issues.
Human Rights Law Centre The Human Rights Law Centre protects and promotes human rights in Australia and in Australian activities overseas. This site has many relevant links to this assignment
UN human rights review: Countries line up to criticise Australia for its treatment of asylum seekers Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/un-human-rights-review-countries-line-up-to-criticise-australia-for-its-treatment-of-asy An article from the Sydney Morning Herald 10 Nov 2015
Amnesty International : Refugees Millions of people around the world have no choice but to flee their homeland to escape war, genocide, torture and persecution. Amnesty works to uphold the rights of people seeking asylum across the world.

How are human rights protected in Australian law? explanation of how Australians rights are protected.
A Bill of Rights for Australia - But do we need it? - Law & Justice foundation Background to and arguments for and against a Bill of Rights in Australia
Should Australia have a Bill of Rights? The question of whether Australia, and for that matter the Australian states, should have a Bill of Rights enacted is coming under increasing examination. This especially is the case against a background of increasingly draconian security or 'anti-terrorism' laws.
INCHING TOWARDS AN AUSTRALIAN BILL OF RIGHTS: COUSINLY COMMENTS ON THE AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL HUMAN RIGHTS CONSULTATION REPORT A complex article about the history, spirit and traditions of the legal system and constitutional structure.
Bill of Rights A link to a number of journal articles related to Human Rights laws

'Emergency Response' intervention On 21 June 2007, the Australian Government announced a ‘national emergency response to protect Aboriginal children in the Northern Territory’ from sexual abuse and family violence
ABC Online Indigenous Intervention Numerous articles about the intervention in NT and the anniversary of that intervention
Stop the NT Intervention STICS (Stop the Intervention Collective Sydney) is an open collective of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people committed to the repeal of the NT Intervention and the struggle for Aboriginal self-determination. This site looks at the intervention from a different point of view.
International human rights principles and the Northern Territory National Emergency Response Legislation June 2007, the NT Government released the report of its Inquiry into the protection of Aboriginal children from sexual abuse, entitled Little Children Are Sacred. In response,, the Commonwealth Government would introduce ‘immediate, broad ranging measures to stabilise and protect communities in the crisis area’ including quarantining welfare payments, alcohol restrictions on Aboriginal land, health checks for all Aboriginal children, etc.
National congress of Australia'a First People Multiple links to a variety of resources on this topic

Freedoms and Rights concerns in QLD bikie laws Refers to The Vicious Lawless Association Disestablishment Bill, The Tattoo Parlours Bill and The Criminal Law (Criminal Laws Disruption) Amendment Bill. Some other useful links in this site as well
The status of laws on outlaw motorcycle gangs in Australia This paper sets out the laws in Australia governing organised crime and, in particular, outlaw motorcycle gangs (OMCGs). It presents an overview of each jurisdiction's current and proposed legislative framework, as well as proposals to coordinate legislative responses.
‘Anti-bikie’ Laws – Recent Developments 2014 article on 'Anti-bikie' laws
High Court upholds Queensland “anti-bikie laws” The HRLC looks at the facts surrounding the implementation of the VLAD laws.
WHY THE BIKIE LAWS SHOULD CONCERN US ALL Looks at control orders, consorting laws, mandatory sentencing, changes to profiles of justice etc.

Marriage equality
Marriage: A Human Right for All? Paper from the Sydney Law Review
Marriage equality: it’s about human rights
Marriage Equality – A Basic Human Right Submission to the Inquiry into the Marriage Equality Amendment Bill 2009

Marriage Equality in Australia: A Fundamental Right? The subject of same-sex marriage has provoked considerable debate in Australia for some years. There are those who strongly support marriage equality and those who equally oppose it.

HUMAN RIGHTS: ANOTHER LOOK AT ABORTION A look at abortion through the eyes of the church, the medical profession, as a human rights issue
Access to Abortion: A human rights issue for Australian women Sexual and reproductive health rights encompass many areas of basic human rights. The right to health and healthcare, the right to information, the right to life, the right to live free from discrimination and the right to privacy are all inherent in comprehensive access to sexual and reproductive health rights
Human rights and abortion Interesting link with some relevant links to this topic.
A BEGINNER’S GUIDE TO ABORTION LAW IN AUSTRALIA Abortion law in Australia is up to the states; accordingly, state laws vary. Victoria and the ACT have the most liberal legislation on this issue, Queensland the strictest.
Archaic abortion laws in NSW an affront to basic human rights an interesting point of view about why women should be able to make their own choices about their bodies.

Protecting a Right to Personal Privacy Common law and legislative developments in Australia and other comparable overseas jurisdictions cast light on the policy choices available for reform in this area.
DOES GOVERNMENT SPYING VIOLATE HUMAN RIGHTS LAW? This article focuses on technology and human rights.
Civil and Human Rights mulitple links to a number of areas across a range of topics
Australian Privacy Foundation There is a vast array of privacy laws around the world. This document provides access to international instruments relevant to privacy law

New data retention laws begin today, this is what you need to know news article from news.com.au This scheme is allegedly being implemented to protect the country against organised crime and terrorism, but it is also being slammed as a major invasion of privacy.
Department of Attorney General: Data Retention Government resource: Data retention does not provide new powers for agencies to access metadata. It simply obliges telecommunications companies to retain and secure a limited set of records for two years. This will ensure that Australia’s law enforcement and security agencies are able to continue to have lawful access to metadata, subject to strict controls.
Telecommunications (Interception and Access) Amendment (Data Retention) Bill 2015 high level government document - may provide some information on Metadata
Inquiry in to the Telecommunications Amendment Bill 2014 Submission to the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Intelligence and Security
Metadata access should require a warrant.
SMH article Nov 14, 2014
Australia’s Journalist Plot in Conflict With International Human Rights Law? Read about Australia's new journalist scheme and the issue of whether or not it is in conflict with International Human Rights Standards.
Get a Warrant for Metadata Human Rights Committee tells Brandi Human Rights Committee delivers a sharp dose of common sense to the Government over its data retention legislation, recommending that warrants be required for access to metadata.

A Human Rights Guide to Australia's Counter-Terrorism Laws Multiple links on this page
Counter-Terrorism
Key internet links on Terrorism Law
Counter-Terrorism Articles - Monash University
AUSTRALIAN COUNTER-TERRORISM LEGISLATION AND THE INTERNATIONAL HUMAN RIGHTS FRAMEWORK
Why Australia is obsessed with anti-terror laws opinion piece by Dr Fergal Davis June 26, 2015 UNSW Law
Anti-Terror Laws Since September 11, 2001, over 50 pieces of anti-terror legislation have been introduced to Parliament. Many of those laws contain measures that run contrary to established notions of criminal justice. Many of those laws were rushed through parliament but have never or very rarely been used. In short, Australia has been left with a legacy of flawed and unnecessary legislation.

Navigation Made Easy

NC Library Webpage
LC Databases
Google Advanced Search
Google Scholar
How to write what you want to say
more... less...

For a hard copy of this resource, please ask a Library staff member.
Student Cafe
Parent Lounge

SLASA - Online Referencing Generator
1. Select your level
2. Select your source type
3. Fill in the required bibliographic information
4. Create citation
5. Copy and paste into your Reference List
6. CLICK BELOW TO START

SLASA Online Referencing Generator - Harvard

Use this presentation to improve your ability to use direct and indirect references.

Searching Beyond Google

Provides a unique data experience to the end-user that is organized visually and reveals big picture insights that allow fast, intuitive exploration of information.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Tips for Assignment Writing, Referencing & Citation Tools

Google Like a Boss! - Use this Libguide to improve your skills in the entire Research process.

TEEEL

Editing Codes

Pixabay Free high quality images you can download and use anywhere
Bensound Access royalty free music.

Legal Studies: Human Rights Extended Research Response

Human Rights and the Law

Access It Catalogue

Nudgee One Search

Databases & Other Useful Web Links

HUMAN RIGHTS

WEB DATABASES

Videos

Human Rights

The CRAP Test

Human RIghts Topics

Navigation Made Easy

Searching Beyond Google

Tips for Assignment Writing, Referencing & Citation Tools

Videos