LibGuides: Economics: International Performance of the Australian Currency

Access It Catalogue

Search the Learning Centre catalogue

Relevant Databases

Click for access to trial EBSCO Databases

To access databases from home, you will need a username and password. This information is shown on the LC Database link.

Task Overview

Judge the current economic climate of the Australian economy

Analyse/address the following criteria:

1. Value & impact of changes to the $A

2. Australia’s international competitiveness

3. Trends in Australia's trade and the implications for our economy and our trading future

Synthesise and evaluate this information into a conclusion based on reasoned and logical evidence.

Online sources (No 'CRAP')

Financial Systems and Economic Growth: Empirical Evidence from Australia Abstract: This paper examines the dynamic impact of both bank- and market-based financial development on economic growth in Australia during the period from 1980 to 2012. The study uses the autoregressive distributed lag (ARDL) bounds testing approach to examine this linkage. Unlike certain previous studies, this study uses both bank- and market-based financial development indices to measure the level of financial sector development in Australia. These indices were computed using the means-removed average method. The empirical results of this study show that while bankbased financial development has a short-run positive impact on economic growth in Australia, market-based financial development has no significant impact on economic growth, both in the short run and in the long run. These results imply that, in Australia, it is of paramount importance to concentrate on pro-banking sector policies, at least in the short run, to stimulate growth.

Australian Government Find key national indicators, census data for Australia and other statistics on a range of topics.
more...less...
Contains a table providing a summary of Australia's key economic and social indicators. Data contained in this table is updated as soon as it becomes available.

Access 33 key economic indicators including CPI, GDP and unemployment. They're all updated instantly as new data becomes available.

Provides a range of ways for you to access and interpret Census data, from quick access to summary information and community profiles to tools for experienced Census data users.
ASX Look in the drop down menus across the top of the page. Eg.: Services / Education / About ASX
Reserve Bank of Australia Australian Economy Snapshot - Released on 14 July 2017 (Data updated to 4 July 2017)
Australian Government - Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade
Australian Trade and Investment Commission The Australian Trade and Investment Commission–Austrade–contributes to Australia’s economic prosperity by helping Australian businesses, education institutions, tourism operators, governments and citizens as they: 1. Develop international markets and promote international education 2. Win productive foreign direct investment 3. Strengthen Australia’s tourism industry 4. Seek consular and passport services.
more...less...
Look under - For Australians / For Education Sector
HILDA Statistical Reports The Household, Income and Labour Dynamics in Australia Survey, known as HILDA, is a nationally representative longitudinal study of Australian households.
more...less...
This report presents key findings from Waves 1 to 14 of the HILDA Survey and was published in July 2016. The report explores 12 topics:
- HILDA Statistical Report 2016
- Family life
- Economic well-being
- Labour market outcomes
- Household wealth
- Housing wealth
- Superannuation
- Material deprivation
- Child health
- Healthcare utilisation
- Private health insurance
- Sleep, and
- Physical activity.
Trading Economics Australia Economic Indicators
more...less...
Trading Economics provides its users with accurate information for 196 countries including historical data for more than 20 million economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices. Our data is based on official sources, not third party data providers, and our facts are regularly checked for inconsistencies. TradingEconomics.com has received more than 380 million page views from more than 200 countries.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Economic Survey of Australia 2017
more...less...
Explore the other tabs on this site.
Australian Government - The Treasury

Navigation Made Easy

NC Library Webpage
LC Databases
Google Advanced Search
Google Scholar
How to write what you want to say
more... less...

For a hard copy of this resource, please ask a Library staff member.
Student Cafe
Parent Lounge

SLASA - Online Referencing Generator
1. Select your level
2. Select your source type
3. Fill in the required bibliographic information
4. Create citation
5. Copy and paste into your Reference List
6. CLICK BELOW TO START

SLASA Online Referencing Generator - Harvard

Use this presentation to improve your ability to use direct and indirect references.

Economics: International Performance of the Australian Currency

Performance of the Australian Economy

Access It Catalogue

Relevant Databases

Task Overview

Online sources (No 'CRAP')

Navigation Made Easy