LibGuides: Year 6: Around the World

vLibrary Catalogue

To access databases from home, you will need a username and password. This information is shown on the LC Database link.

Your task:

Investigate each of the six features of an Asian country.
Communicate at least 12 of these sub-features through a researched, written report about each of the characteristics.
You will be supported with resources in Google Classroom
You will then have 1 week to demonstrate the knowledge you have learnt in a Scratch presentation.

How:

Select a country as approved by your teacher
Each week you will research a different feature of your country (see below), using the Year 6 Libguide and resources such as Gapminder and Worldmapper.

Yr 6 Geography assignment 2022
Research Record A document for you to record your research notes and bibliographic details.

Making a Scratch Presenation Instructions on how to use Scratch to make a presentation.

We also have books in the library on Scratch!

See our friendly Library staff for help.

Smart Traveller - China Smart Traveller is an Aus. Gov. website that gives important travel information about various countries to prospective travellers.
World Travel Guide - China World Travel guide gives general information about the population size and density, as well as the social aspects of a country.
Tours China This site provides tourist information, such as weather and popular tourist attractions.
National Geographic Kids - China National Geographic offer a Country Fact File for countries, including geographical, population and environmental information.
Britannica - China Britannica offers a comprehensive country fact file, including environmental, population and geographical information.
World Atlas - China Geograpahical information on China

Britannica - Japan Britannica offers a comprehensive fact file for JApan, including population, geographical and environmental information.
Smart Traveller - Japan Smart Traveller is an Aus. Gov. site which offers important information to people travelling overseas.
World Travel Guide - Japan World Travel Guide offers information on the culture, geography, population and weather.
Weather and Climate - Japan Weather and Climate.com offers information on temperatures and rainfall for countries around the world.
National Geographic - Japan Fact File on Japan's population, economy, geogrpahy and population.
World Atlas - Japan Geographical information on Japan.
OEC Japan (with thanks to Edward C) Looks at Japan's exports and compares to some other Asian countries

Weather and Climate - Indonesia (Jakarta) Weather and Climate provides information on rainfall and temperatures for the provinces and cities in Indonesia.
National Geographic - Indonesia National Geographic provides a comprehensive introduction to Indonesia, it's population and geographical information.
World Atlas - Indonesia Includes maps and geographical information on Indonesia
Britannica - Indonesia Britannica provides comprehensive information about Indonesia, its population, environment and geography.
World Travel Guide Geographical and travel information about Indonesia.
Smart Traveller - Indonesia Important travel information about Indonesia.

Britannica - India Britannica gives comprehensive information on India, it's population, geography and environment.
National Geographic - India National Geographic offers a fact file on India, it's population, geography and economy.
Smart Traveller - India Smart Traveller is an Aus. Gov. site that gives important travel advice to people looking at going overseas.
World Atlas - India Geographical information on India
World Travel Guide - India The world TRavel Guide offers information on travelling to India, its climate, population and landscape.
Weather and Climate - India India's weather, climate ad rainfall.

World Atlas - Taiwan Geographical information on Taiwan.
Smart Traveller - Taiwan Important travel information about Taiwan.
World Weather Online - Taiwan Weather trends in Taiwan.
BBC News on Taiwan Taiwan has faced difficulty in being recognised as a separate country from China.
Britannica - Taiwan A fact file on Taiwan, its population, geography and environment.
World Travel Guide - Taiwan Information on Taiwan, its history, population, environment and geography.
CIA World Fact Book - Taiwan Information on Taiwan.

Britannica - Singapore Britannica offers comprehensive information on Singapore, geography, population and environment.
World Atlas - Singapore Geographical information on Singapore.
Smart Traveller - Singapore Travel advice for Singapore.
Weather and Climate - Singapore Weather and rainfall information for Singapore.
World Travel Guide - Singapore Travel information and general information about Singapore.
National Geographic - Singapore Facts on Singapore, its population, geography and economy.

DJ Hanly Learning Centre Webpage Return to Library webpage
LC Databases Username and password needed to access from home
Cite This For Me Save time and improve your marks with 'CiteThisForMe'.
Turnitin Class Id and password needed
Google Advanced Search Refine search results by using Google's advanced search features