What is a library database?
- Library databases contain information from published works.
- Examples: Magazine and newspaper articles,encyclopedias and other reference books.
- Library databases are searchable.
- By Keywords, Subject, Author, Magazine Title, Date, etc.
- Library databases provide citation information.
- Author, if available
- Title of Article
- Publication (Title of Magazine, Newspaper, or Reference Book)
- Publisher
- Date of Publication
- Library databases often contain full-text articles.
- You can print or email an entire article.
- There are different kinds of library databases
- For specific topics. Examples: History Reference Centre and Science Reference Centre.
- For generalised factual searches: Encyclopedia Britannica
- Library databases are subscribed to yearly and often contain published information by experts not readily found on the internet.
|
How is a library database different from a website?
| Library databases |
Web sites |
| Library databases get their information from professionals or experts in the field. |
Web sites can be written by anyone regardless of expertise. |
| Library databases contain published works where facts are checked. |
Web site content is not necessarily checked by an expert. |
| Library databases are easy to cite in a bibliography and may create the citation for you. |
Web sites often don’t provide the information necessary to create a complete citation. |
| Library databases can help you narrow your topic or suggest related subjects. |
Web sites often aren’t organized to support student research needs. |
| Library databases are updated frequently and include the date of publication. |
Web sites may not indicate when a page is updated. |
 
|
Questions to ask about ANY information:
- Currency: How recent is the information, and when was it last updated?
- Organization: Is it easy to find the information you need?
- Accuracy: How reliable is the information, and are the facts accurate?
- Bibliography: How easy is the work to cite in a bibliography? Does it give you the author, title, publisher, and date?
- Unfamiliar Topics: How useful is it when you don’t know where to start?
- Languages: How easily can the work provide languages other than English?
Any source, whether a library database or website, can have good information. It is necessary to think critically about all information that you read or view.
